Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Jayasuriya will be considered as a specialist batsman for WC 2011 - Aravinda

Chairman of National Selectors Aravinda de Silva stated that his committee will weigh more on experience when naming the final squad of 15 players for the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup.

The national selectors on Monday named a 30 member preliminary squad in preparation for the World Cup and it will be pruned down to 15 by the first week of January next year in keeping with the ICC regulations.

Strong combination

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup will be worked off from February 19 to April 2 and will be co-hosted by India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Aravinda de Silva a member of the 1996 World Cup winning team said that all players in the preliminary 30 member squad have justified themselves to be in this position as they look to form a powerful combination of youth and experience.

Specialist batsman

He said that veteran Sanath Jayasuriya will be considered as a specialist batsman and experienced left arm seamer Chaminda Vaas as an opening bowler. However their selection for the final 15 member squad will depend on how well they could balance the team.

De Silva regretted the fact that they missed out a great opportunity of seeing some of the players in action who were earmarked for the probable final squad following the postponement of the five match one day international series against the West Indies.

As a result they were forced to consider the past performances and the international experience of some of the players before naming them in the preliminary 30 member squad.

De Silva stressed the importance of the players having some exposure at international level ahead of the World Cup and said that Sri Lanka Cricket are exploring the possibilities of playing at least a couple of matches against Bangladesh.

Training sessions

He noted that with no competitive cricket at the moment the players have organized a series of training sessions both at day and night at all World Cup venues namely Hambantota, Pallekele and R Premadasa International Stadium.

No passengers

De Silva further noted that there will be no passengers in the final 15 member squad and each player will need to play a specific role given the occasion.

He recalled an example how Upul Chandana even as 12th man played a decisive role on the field during the 1996 World Cup quarterfinal match against England.

Chairman national selectors also believed that the final 15 member squad should include a variety of players who are capable of turning around the game during different match situations.

Monday, December 13, 2010

Jayasuriya, Vaas in list of WC 2011 probables

Sri Lanka has picked veterans Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas in a preliminary squad for next year's World Cup.

Sri Lanka Cricket released a list of 30 players on Monday, of which 15 will be selected for the final squad.

If selected, Jayasuriya will be playing in his sixth succesive World Cup. The dashing opener took the world by storm in the 1996 edition, when he along with Romesh Kaluwitharana took the opposition bowlers to the sword during the field restrictions. Jayasuriya was declared the player of the tournament on that occasion.

Out of favour medium pacer Vaas has been a useful contributor for the Lankans over the years and at 36 will be hoping to feature in yet another World Cup.

List of probables:

T M Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Taranga Paranavithana, Lahiru Thirimanna, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardena, Thilan Samaraweera, Kumar Sangakkara, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedara, Angelo Mathews, Tissara Perera, F. Maharoof, Jeewan Mendis, Muttiah Muralitharan, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Hearth, Malinga Bandara, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dilhara Fernando, Suranga Lakmal, Dhammika Prasad, Chaminda Vaas, Chamara Wellagedara, Nuwan Pradeep, Thilan Thushara

Sunday, December 05, 2010

Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas included in World Cup final thirty

Sidelined veterans Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas have been included in the World Cup final thirty which the Sri Lanka Cricket has to forward to the ICC by the 10th of this month, the Sunday Times learns.

Vaas, the 36-year-old left arm seam bowler who had a brilliant stint with Worcestershire during the English summer this year, was a strong contender for a comeback with the slacking fast-bowling arsenal in the local stores.

Vaas who has 400 international one-day wickets to his credit played his last ODI against India at the R. Premadasa Stadium on August 8, 2008 and has been overlooked since. Vaas was a member of the 1996 World Cup winning Sri Lankan squad.

He played his first ODI also against India in Rajkot way back in February 1994. The other veteran, Sanath Jayasuriya, is a champion of 444 ODIs and has scored 13,428 runs in 432 innings and was named the Most Valuable Player at the 1996 World Cup which Sri Lanka won.

Jayasuriya made his ODI debut against Australia in Melbourne on December 26, 1989 and played his last ODI against India in New Delhi on December 27 2009. A left arm orthodox spinner, Jayasuriya in his 444 appearances bagged 322 wickets with his best being 6/29 against England. In his last stages with the national team he was used more as a stock left arm spinner and a lower middle order batsman.

The Sunday Times exclusively revealed that both Vaas and Jayasuriya were back at training with the Lankan squad in September 2010. From the very inception both cricketers made it very clear of their intentions of being a part of the 2011 World Cup squad.

Meanwhile, the selectors have named a probe-in-the-dark squad of sixteen for the first two one-day Internationals against the West Indies to christen the Sooriyawewa Stadium on Thursday and Saturday. 
Still trying to get their final combinations ready for the World Cup 2011, the selectors have left out their champion match winner Muttiah Muralitharan, thus depriving the legend some much-needed match practice.

The top heavy Lankan batting line up has been cushioned with the inclusion of dependable Thilan Samaraweera, but the unproven talents of Chamara Kapugedera and Chamara Silva have been persisted with while futuristic Dinesh Chandimal has been sidelined again. However the inclusion of Samaraweera should take a lot of pressure off the shoulders of Dilshan, skipper Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardena, a batsman who has been going through a lean patch lately.

Once again, the lower middle order has been beefed up by Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera. One also wonders how leg-spinning batsman Jeewan Mendis could fit into the final XI in these two games with the top seven reading Tharanga, Dilshan, Sangakkara, Mahela, Thilan, Angelo and Thisara Perera who has more than proved his worth with some telling contributions in the recent past.
Jeewan also may not be opted only as a bowler as the selectors have put their faith on Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herat and Suraj Randiv.

The three seamers in the side are Nuwan Kulasekera, Lasith Malinga and Dilhara Fernando. Nevertheless the selectors have left a door open for themselves by naming the squad only for the first two games.

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Sanath Jayasuriya Blogspot is a fan BLOG and is not affiliated to any official cricket board, partners or vendors or company or individuals.

www.sanath189.blogspot.comBlogs/ Pages/ Content/Images or any articles are for informational purposes only.

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL SITE FOR THE INDIVIDUAL. This is a purely informational site about the individual and it is not affiliated with, or endorsed by, the individual. This information on this site was obtained from public sources, and may not be accurate, complete or up-to-date.
Clicky Web Analytics