Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Jayasuriya voted Sri Lanka’s best ever captain

Sanath Jayasuriya has been voted Sri Lanka’s best captain in a recent online poll by leading cricket website Cricinfo.Jayasuriya polled 31% of the popular vote, just ahead of current captain Mahela Jayawardene who secured 30%.

Marvan Atapattu, Jayawardene’s recently retired predecessor, was also rated highly with 19% of the vote.

World Cup winning captain Arjuna Ranatunga was backed by 14% of users and 5% thought Aravinda de Silva was Sri Lanka’s best captain.

Jayasuriya led Sri Lanka between 1999 and 2003, leading Sri Lanka to a record 10-game winning sequence in Test cricket in 2001 and 2002.

The Cricinfo survey took place in June with 40,433 Sri Lanka fans participating.

Statistically speaking, Jayawardene is Sri Lanka’s most successful captain with a 62% win ratio in One-Day Internationals.

Jayasuriya had a 58% win ratio, Atapattu 56% and Ranatunga 48%.

Jayawardene is also the most successful captain in Test cricket with an impressive 52% win ratio.

Jayasuriya won 47% of the Tests he captained, Atapattu 44% and Ranatunga 21%.

Cricinfo is the world’s leading cricket website accessed by over 15 million cricket fans worldwide.


aswini said...

no words to describe ur blog.

sujan_rao said...

Hey Thanks Aswini :)

Loved Ever said...

It is very nice blog.Keep writing blog.
Work From Home India

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Sanath Jayasuriya Blogspot is a fan BLOG and is not affiliated to any official cricket board, partners or vendors or company or individuals.

www.sanath189.blogspot.comBlogs/ Pages/ Content/Images or any articles are for informational purposes only.

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL SITE FOR THE INDIVIDUAL. This is a purely informational site about the individual and it is not affiliated with, or endorsed by, the individual. This information on this site was obtained from public sources, and may not be accurate, complete or up-to-date.
Clicky Web Analytics