Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Jayasuriya to play for Bloomfield against Tamil Union in Coca Cola Premier limited overs tournament final

Two equally good teams Bloomfield and Tamil Union will clash in the Sri Lanka Cricket organised Coca Cola Premier limited overs tournament final at the R. Premadasa Stadium today.

Both teams have experienced mixed fortunes on their way into the final but are confident following their success in the two semifinals. In fact Bloomfield produced a fine performance to beat the giant killers Chilaw Marians SC in the first semifinal while Tamil Union had the better of NCC by 36 runs.

Bloomfield finished on top of the points table at the completion of the preliminary round with a total of eight victories and one loss from ten outings. Their solitary defeat came at the hands of Colts CC during the latter stages of the tournament.

Tamil Union were placed second in the points table with a total of seven victories and two defeats from their ten outings. They suffered two defeats at the hands of Colts CC by four wickets and Chilaw Marians SC by 21 runs.

The final is of great significance considering the fact that the clash between the two teams in the preliminary round tournament did not materialise and was abandoned due to bad weather.

The good news for Tamil Union is the return of the champion off spinner Muttiah Muralitharan who is set to play only his second match of the tournament according to their assistant coach Trishen Nonis. The new vice captain of the Sri Lanka team will spearhead the Tamil Union bowling attack along with Isuru Udana (18 wickets) and Suranga Lakmal (14 wickets). The Tamil Union batting will revolve around Gihan Rupasinghe (292 runs), Ashan Priyanjan (283 runs) and skipper Muthumudalige Pushpakumara (253 runs).

Bloomfield of course have a strong team on paper and will be boosted with the return of dashing middle order batsman Tillekeratne Dilshan who will lead the side. He will also have the services of all rounder Chinthaka Jayasinghe who has scored 335 runs with three fifties and captured 19 wickets.

The other top run getters in the Bloomfield side are Chamara Silva who has a tally of 375 inclusive of four half centuries and Saman Jayantha 343 runs with three fifties.

The champions will receive a cash award of Rs. 750,000 and the runners up will receive Rs. 500,000. In addition special awards will be presented to the Best Batsman, Best Bowler, Man of the Match and Player of the Series.

The teams.

Tamil Union (from): Muthumudalige Pushpakumara (captain), Gihan de Silva, Muttiah Muralitharan, Suranga Lakmal, Sajith Fernando, Sachithra Serasinghe, Ashan Priyanjan, Jeewan Mendis, Gihan Rupasinghe, Lanka de Silva, Isuru Udana, Madawa Perera, Malinga Surappulige, Anton de Livera, Sanjeewa Chaturanga, Viraj Perera and Pubudu Chandrasekera.

Bloomfield (from): Tillekeratne Dilshan (captain), Shanuka Dissanayake, Sanath Jayasuriya, Tharanga Lakshitha, Saman Jayantha, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Anoj Ketapearachchi, Ranga Dias, Prasanna Jayawardena, Chamara Silva, S. Mendis Suraj Mohamed, Nuwan Pradeep, Sanjaya Gangodawila, Tharaka Gunaratne and Thilina Masmulla.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Sanath Jayasuriya Blogspot is a fan BLOG and is not affiliated to any official cricket board, partners or vendors or company or individuals.

www.sanath189.blogspot.comBlogs/ Pages/ Content/Images or any articles are for informational purposes only.

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL SITE FOR THE INDIVIDUAL. This is a purely informational site about the individual and it is not affiliated with, or endorsed by, the individual. This information on this site was obtained from public sources, and may not be accurate, complete or up-to-date.
Clicky Web Analytics