Monday, May 04, 2009

'Old fox' Jayasuriya in SL lineup for T20 WC

Veteran all-rounder Sanath Jayasuriya has been included in the 15-member Sri Lanka squad for the Twenty20 World Cup in England this June.

The southpaw, who has been in tremendous form in the ongoing IPL in South Africa, is the oldest member of the squad that was announced in Colombo on Monday. Kumar Sangakkara has been retained as skipper, while Muttiah Muralitharan has been made his deputy.

Most of the Lankan players, who are playing in the IPL, have been included in the line-up. This includes Tilekaratne Dilshan (Delhi Daredevils), Mahela Jayawardene (Kings XI Punjab), Ajantha Mendis (Kolkata Knight Riders) and Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians).

Apart from the squad, six players have been announced as standby players. They are: Malinga Bandara, Upul Tharanga, Chamara Kapugedara, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Tisara Perera and Suranga Lakmal.

The Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain), Muttaih Muralidharan, Sanath Jayasuriya, TM Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardana, Chamara Silva, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kurasekara, Thilan Thushara, Lasith Malinga, Isuru Udana, M Maharoof, Jehan Mubarak, Indika de Seram.

1 comment:

rudra said...

how can sl board make final XI without the master????

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Sanath Jayasuriya Blogspot is a fan BLOG and is not affiliated to any official cricket board, partners or vendors or company or individuals.

www.sanath189.blogspot.comBlogs/ Pages/ Content/Images or any articles are for informational purposes only.

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL SITE FOR THE INDIVIDUAL. This is a purely informational site about the individual and it is not affiliated with, or endorsed by, the individual. This information on this site was obtained from public sources, and may not be accurate, complete or up-to-date.
Clicky Web Analytics