Tuesday, December 08, 2009

Jayasuriya and Malinga join SL squad, but India equipped


It would be tough for the Sri Lankan camp to get off to a flyer in the first twenty20 match which is scheduled to play at Nagpur. They were thrashed by the Indians who are presently the number1 team in Tests.

India will be running high with confidence after the mammoth victory and would be looking forward to pack up the visitors in the same manner. But the format is different and it's unpredictable. Pitch won’t be of that matter, as at one point the aggression and speed takes over.

The team may score heavily or may loose quick wickets in regular intervals. The one who dominates the game will certainly outplay the other. The Indian players are stars in their own IPL teams but couldn't put a good show when they played together.Out of nine twenty20 matches that India has played since 2008 they have lost six and have managed to win just three. The last time India won was the stunning innings by Pathan brothers against Sri Lanka. India missed out Sehwag in England but Viru is back and is  in his best.

The Sri Lankan side was at their best in the last twenty20 World Cup and was unbeatable till the final. They have been playing well with a strong batting line up and with Murali and Mendis doing the magic; the opponents had to surrender with no option left. The destructive Sanath Jayasuriya will join the attacking Dilshan and that is the major threat to India.

Latish Malinga, who is fast, quick and brilliant with Yorkers, will be the X factor for the indignant Lankans.India will be a bit relaxed as Murali won't be available, but will watch out for Mendis who proves dangerous. India will play in the likes of Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma and Yousuf Pathan who have been the match winners. India has left out Harbhajan Singh and Zaheer Khan and will be playing with Nehra, Sreesanth and Ojha. Sri Lanka will try to overlook the test defeat and will start on an optimistic note and India will look forward to carry on the momentum.

Teams Probable

India : 1 Gautam Gambhir, 2 Virender Sehwag, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 6 Rohit Sharma, 7 Yusuf Pathan, 8 Pragyan Ojha, 9 Sreesanth, 10 Ishant Sharma, 11 Ashish Nehra.

Sri Lanka : 1 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 2 Sanath Jayasuriya, 3 Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), 4 Mahela Jayawardene, 5 Chamara Kapugedera, 6 Angelo Mathews, 7 Kaushalya Weeraratne, 8 Nuwan Kulasekara, 9 Ajantha Mendis, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Chanaka Welegedara.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Sanath Jayasuriya Blogspot is a fan BLOG and is not affiliated to any official cricket board, partners or vendors or company or individuals.

www.sanath189.blogspot.comBlogs/ Pages/ Content/Images or any articles are for informational purposes only.

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL SITE FOR THE INDIVIDUAL. This is a purely informational site about the individual and it is not affiliated with, or endorsed by, the individual. This information on this site was obtained from public sources, and may not be accurate, complete or up-to-date.
Clicky Web Analytics