Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Master blaster Sanath Jayasuriya to lift KZN Dolphins

THE Dolphins, after slipping to last on the SuperSport Series log this past weekend following five forgettable draws in five outings, receive a timely boost today with the arrival in Durban of Sri Lankan master blaster, Sanath Jayasuriya. And the former Sri Lanka captain was immediately included in the KZN franchise’s side for their opening MTN 45-over match against the Highveld Lions in Potchefstroom on Friday. The 39-year-old Jayasuriya was honing his renowned big-hitting skills at the Hong Kong Sixes over the weekend and will need to play a key role in uplifting the intensity of the Dolphins’ game. He has played a world record 421 one-day internationals for Sri Lanka, scoring 12 785 runs in the process with 27 hundreds and 66 half centuries to his name. Only India’s “little genius” Sachin Tendulkar is in the running to break that record and could well do so once his country’s impending seven ODIs against England are over. Jayasuriya, however, has still not hung up his bat for his country’s one-day side, so his personal duel with Tendulkar is not over. A 1996 World Cup winner with Sri Lanka when they beat Australia in the final in Pakistan, Jayasuriya is also a useful left-arm spinner with 310 ODI wickets behind him, and his presence could well put paid to Morn´e van Vuuren’s chances of making the Dolphins’ limited-over side this season, as the man regarded as one of the best one-day players in history is also contracted for the Standard Bank Pro20 Series that follows the crowded MTN schedule in late January. SS SERIES STANDINGS (halfway stage): 1. Northern Titans 54,62 points; 2 Free State Eagles 49,92 pts; 3 East Cape Warriors 42,24 pts; 4 Highveld Lions 39,22 pts; 5 West Cape Cobras 29,52 pts; 6 KZN Dolphins 26,54 pts. KZN Dolphins: Ahmed Amla (capt), Imraan Khan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Grant Rowley, HD Ackerman, Jon Kent, Pierre de Bruyn, Daryn Smit, Johann Louw, Saidi Mlongo, Yusuf Abdullah, Quinton Friend. KZN Coastal - to meet Boland in Paarl: Darren Govender, Myren Pillay, David Miller, Martin Bekker, Sarel Erwee, Greg Fotheringham, Bradley Barnes, Keshav Maharaj, Vyash Gobind, Ugasen Govender, Emanuel Mkhize, Craig Woods.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Sanath Jayasuriya Blogspot is a fan BLOG and is not affiliated to any official cricket board, partners or vendors or company or individuals.

www.sanath189.blogspot.comBlogs/ Pages/ Content/Images or any articles are for informational purposes only.

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL SITE FOR THE INDIVIDUAL. This is a purely informational site about the individual and it is not affiliated with, or endorsed by, the individual. This information on this site was obtained from public sources, and may not be accurate, complete or up-to-date.
Clicky Web Analytics