Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Sanath Jayasuriya - New Dolphins signing heads for SA

Sri Lanka star Sanath Jayasuriya arrives in South Africa on Thursday, and will join up with the Dolphins squad for their opening MTN Domestic Championship match against the Lions at Senwes Park, in Potchefstroom, on Friday. Dolphins supporters will have their first opportunity to see Jayasuriya in action at Kingsmead next Wednesday, November 19, when the Durban-based franchise take on the Eagles. The domestic scene will be dominated by limited-overs cricket from now until the end of February, beginning with the 45-over format (November 14-January 16) and then the Standard Bank Pro20 competition (January 21-February 20), before the completion of the SuperSport Series. Meanwhile, a 12-man squad for the Lions match was announced yesterday afternoon. It is a powerful, well-balanced team with H D Ackerman returning from his three-match ban, while Johann Louw is back in the franchise fold after playing for the Proteas in the limited-overs series against Bangladesh. Despite a disappointing run of form in the SuperSport Series, big-hitting Grant Rowley keeps his place in the team for Friday's match. He has been preferred to David Miller, who will play for the Amateur team in the South African Airways Provincial Challenge matches against Boland in Paarl this weekend. The selectors have chosen four specialist pacemen in the squad - Louw, Yusuf Abdullah, Saidi Mlongo and Quinton Friend - with Jon Kent and Pierre de Bruyn providing back-up. The Dolphins will also have the option of using the left-arm spin of Jayasuriya and the right-arm wrist-spin of Daryn Smit. The Dolphins played a practice match at Kingsmead on Friday night. Bowling all-rounder Alfonso Thomas, who is contracted to the Dolphins for limited-overs cricket only this season, is getting married in England next week and will miss the first two matches. Dolphins (v Lions on Friday): Sanath Jayasuriya, Imraan Khan, H D Ackerman, Ahmed Amla (capt), Grant Rowley, Jon Kent, Pierre de Bruyn, Daryn Smit (w/k), Johann Louw, Quinton Friend, Saidi Mlongo, Yusuf Abdullah. KZN Amateur team (for 3- and 1-day matches v Boland on Nov 13-16): Darren Govender, Myren Pillay, David Miller, Martin Bekker (capt), Sarel Erwee, Greg Fotheringham, Bradley Barnes (w/k), Keshav Maharaj, Vyash Gobind, Ugasen Govender, Emannuel Mkhize, Craig Woods.

1 comment:

Damith S. said...

lets hope sanath tears it up in SA !

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Sanath Jayasuriya Blogspot is a fan BLOG and is not affiliated to any official cricket board, partners or vendors or company or individuals.

www.sanath189.blogspot.comBlogs/ Pages/ Content/Images or any articles are for informational purposes only.

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL SITE FOR THE INDIVIDUAL. This is a purely informational site about the individual and it is not affiliated with, or endorsed by, the individual. This information on this site was obtained from public sources, and may not be accurate, complete or up-to-date.
Clicky Web Analytics